Month: November 2012

  •  

     

    Five-Course Meal at York Tech Institute

    Executive Chefs ~ Sabrina & Ashley ~ Part 2

     

    2 (1)

     

     

    2 (2)

    Country Chicken Noodle Soup

     

     

    2 (3)

    Chanterelle Mushroom Soup

     

     

    2 (4)

    Deb and Roy

    I took a few pictures (experimenting with new settings) while we waited for our entree.

     

     

    2 (5)

    Nate

     

     

    2 (6)

    Jenna

     

     

    2 (7)

     

     

    2 (8)

    Boston Bibb with Baby Micro Greens

     

     

    2 (9)

    Spring Mix of Greens

     

     

    2 (10)

     

     

    2 (11)

    Pan Seared Halibut

    This was my entree. It was the best halibut I have tasted since our trip to Alaska – almost ten years ago.

     

     

    2 (12)

    Roasted Airline Chicken Breast

     

     

    2 (13)

    Grilled Pork Loin

     

     

    2 (14)

    Our desserts are listed on the bottom – left and right – of this board.

     

     

    2 (15)

    Maple Creme Caramel with a Sugar Cage

     

     

    2 (18)

    Chocolate Hazelnut Lava Cake with Drunken Cherries and Expresso Ice Cream.

     

     

    2 (19)

    Our server said he prefers being in the kitchen, but he did a great job. In this restaurant training they must do each job related to culinary arts.

     

     

    2 (20)

    Sabrina was able to come out of the kitchen after everyone was served. She was a chef today.

     

     

    2 (21)

     

     

    2 (22)

    A gift from Roy and Deb for Sabrina’s future kitchen.

     

     

    2 (23)

    Talking to her family. Her mom and dad are on her left.

     

     

    2 (24)

    Talking to her brother – or it looks like he is talking to her at the moment I took this picture.

     

     

    2 (25)

    Visiting with Stephanie, Romaine, and Luanne.

     

     

    2 (26)

    I like her chef hat…

     

     

    2 (27)

    …and the towel in her belt.

     

     

    2 (30)

    Sabrina & Nate

    Her goal is to get into catering. Anyone need a good caterer?

     

    ~~~

    It was an incredibly delicious meal.

    Thanks for inviting us Sabrina.

    ~~~

     

     

  •  
     
     
    I Am a Christian
     
    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I’m not shouting “I’m clean livin’.”
    I’m whispering “I was lost,
    Now I’m found and forgiven.”

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I don’t speak of this with pride.
    I’m confessing that I stumble
    and need Christ to be my guide.

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I’m not trying to be strong.
    I’m professing that I’m weak
    And need His strength to carry on.

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I’m not bragging of success.
    I’m admitting I have failed
    And need God to clean my mess.

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I’m not claiming to be perfect,
    My flaws are far too visible
    But, God believes I am worth it.

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I still feel the sting of pain.
    I have my share of heartaches
    So I call upon His name.

    When I say… “I am a Christian”
    I’m not holier than thou,
    I’m just a simple sinner
    Who received God’s good grace, somehow!
     
    by Maya Angelou
     
     
     

  •  

     

    Five-Course Meal at York Tech Institute

    Executive Chefs ~ Sabrina & Ashley ~ Part 1

     

     

    1 (1)

    We were honored to be invited to a practice/training meal.

     

     

    2 (28)

    Executive Chef Sabrina (left) is the girlfriend of our grandson Nathan. The other sweet chef is Ashley.

     

     

    1 (6)

    Of course Nathan was there – ready to eat.

     

     

    1 (2)

    I experimented with my new camera as we waited for the restaurant to open.

     

     

    1 (3)

     

     

    1 (4)

     

     

    1 (5)

    Some of Sabrina’s family – Stephanie, Shirley, Romaine, Luanne, and Abigail.

     

     

    1 (7)

     

     

    1 (8)

     

     

    1 (9)

     

     

    1 (10)

    Our granddaughter Abigail (right) brought her mother-in-law, Luanne, (center) Luanne’s mother, Romaine, and Stephanie.

     

     

      1 (18)

     

     

    1 (11)

    After looking at the menu, we knew that we were in for a treat.

     

     

    1 (12)

    The bread basket

     

     

    1 (13)

    As soon as we were seated, the servers took our drink orders.

     

     

    1 (14)

     

     

    1 (15)

    Sabrina’s family – grandparents, parents, her oldest brother and a coworker.

     

     

    1 (19)

     

     

    1 (16)

    Janet (in red), Sabrina’s aunt, is surrounded by her children. On the right side of the table is Kristi and her daughters. Kristi is a graduate of a culinary arts school and a friend of Sabrina. 

     

     

    1 (20)

    Our table: Cerwin, Jenna, Deb, Roy, Nathan, and Jeff.

     

     

    1 (21)

    My apple cider

     

     

    1 (22)

     

     

    1 (23)

    Cerwin’s coffee

     

     

    1 (24)

     

     

    1 (25)

    Pan Seared Foie Gras

     

     

    1 (26)

    Acorn Squash Custard

     

     

    1 (27)

    Roasted Lamb Loin Chops

     

     

    1 (28)

    Salmon Tartare

     

    ~~~

    More Tomorrow Night

    ~~~

     

     

  •  

    We can go to God with bold confidence through faith in Christ.

    Ephesians 3:12 (GOD’S WORD Translation)

     

  •  

     

    Some Great Hunting Pictures From Jere

     

    PB270206

    I love this picture!

     

     

    PB260193

     

     

    PB270209

    Jere sent these pictures this morning – they go with my previous post.

     

     

  •  

     

    The End of My Nikon D50

      

     1 (1)

    I was beginning to sense something was wrong with my camera over the weekend because the bottom of my photos were dark – when there was no reason for them to be dark.

     

     

    1 (5)

    This was when Cerwin, Jere, and Josh were preparing to go to Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, to hunt white tail deer.

     

     

    1 (6)

     

     

    1 (7)

    They planned to hunt on Monday and Tuesday.

     

     

    1 (8)

    I received this picture from Jere early Monday morning. He got a nice, large-bodied seven-point.

     

     

    1 (9)

    He was the only successful hunter on this trip. (Photos by Cerwin.)

     

     

    1 (10)

    This deer will help provide a group home with venison. The home is a caregiver for a friend of theirs, and this is Jere’s second deer for this season.

     

     

    DSC_0218

    You many not think about the bad shutter on my camera with this shot. However, the bottom of the picture should not be this dark.

     

     

    DSC_0221

    We had a light snow on Monday morning.

     

     

    DSC_0226

    I was disappointed to not get nice sharp pictures.

     

     

    DSC_0235

    These last two pictures clearly show that my camera was going bad.

     

     

    DSC_0236

    After getting two opinions on my camera and hearing the cost of repair, we purchased a new Nikon D7000. I donated my old camera to a repair shop for parts.

     

     

  •  

    Jesus answered, “If you knew the generosity of God and who I am, you would be asking me for a drink, and I would give you fresh, living water.”

    John 4:10 (The Message)

     

  •  

     

    Day to Day

     

    11-10 (2)

    Sunrise on Saturday, November 10

     

     

    11-13 Birds (1)

    I never tire of watching birds – especially in the morning light.

     

     

    11-13 Birds (4)

     

     

    11-21 (1)

    Morning Fog on Wednesday, November 21

     

     

    11-21 (2)

     

     

    11-21 (3)

     

     

    11-21 (4)

     

     

    11-21 (6)

     

     

    11-21 (8)

     

     

    11-21 (9)

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (1)

    A brilliant sunrise on Saturday, November 24

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (2)

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (3)

    This was the day Cerwin picked up our venison at Bur-Pak Family Foods, Inc. This was from the two deer he got in Kentucky.

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (4)

    Front to back: sweet bologna slices, sweet sticks, sausage, and hamburger.

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (5)

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (6)

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (7)

     

     

    11-24-12 Sunrise and Venison (8)

    We will be eating well for another year.

     

     

  •  

    To your knowledge add self-control; to your self-control add endurance; to your endurance add godliness.

    2 Peter 1:6 (Good News Translation)

     

  •  

     

    Baby Shower – Part 2

    Saturday Evening, November 24

     

    2 (1)

    Fun with Daddy

     

     

    2 (2)

    Elyse meeting her mom’s uncle Dale.

     

     

    2 (3)

     

     

    2 (4)

    Deb, Elyse, and Bella

     

     

    2 (5)

    Best friend cousins – Kate, Jessie, and Andi.

     

     

    2 (6)

    With Grandma

     

     

    2 (7)

    Bella loved helping Jessie open the gifts.

     

     

    2 (8)

     

     

    2 (9)

     

     

    2 (10)

     

     

    2 (11)

     

     

    2 (12)

    Elyse preferred the box!

     

     

    2 (13)

     

     

    2 (14)

     

     

    2 (16)

     

     

    2 (15)

     

     

    2 (17)

     

     

    2 (18)

     

     

    2 (19)

    Cooper trying to convince Elyse’s grandpa to give him food.

     

     

    2 (20)

     

     

    2 (21)

    Rob and his mother and mother-in-law watching Jessie open the gifts.

     

     

    2 (22)

    Aunt Hillary showing Elyse one of her new books.

     

     

    2 (23)

     

     

    2 (24)

    She will grow up cheering for Penn State!

     

     

    2 (25)

     

     

    2 (26)

     

     

    2 (27)

     

     

    2 (28)

     

     

    2 (29)

     

     

    2 (30)

    Jolie “sneaked” away from her own family’s Thanksgiving dinner for a quick visit with Rob, Jessie, and Elyse.

     

     

    2 (31)

    By the end of the evening Elyse was tired and hungry.