June 1, 2013

  •  

     

    Birthday Party for My Sister

    And Her Granddaughter

    Sunday Evening, May 26

     

     

    1 (2) 2

    This was a surprise 60th Birthday Party for my sister, Nancy.

     

     

    2a 2b

    Because her granddaughter Lindsey was having her second birthday a few days earlier, Nancy’s daughters planned a cake and ice cream surprise party for Nancy – making her think it was a party for Lindsey.

     

     

    1 (1)

    While Nancy’s family finished having supper inside the garage, the invited dessert guests gathered outside and quietly waited for the door to open to yell, “Surprise.”

     

     

    DSC_8956

    Ron and Christine (couple in the center) are the other set of grandparents to Lindsey. Next to them (right) is Frank, Nancy’s father-in-law, and on the far right is Ruth Ann, Nancy’s sister-in-law.

     

     

    DSC_8960

    Heidi, Lindsey’s older sister.

     

     

    DSC_8963

    Jamie, Nancy’s granddaughter – Jason and Melissa’s daughter.

     

     

    DSC_8965

    David is the son of one of the young women who my brother Steve and his wife, Brenda, cared for in their ministry to women.

     

     

    DSC_8968

    I was trying to get a picture of this sidewalk birthday wish, but the children each wanted their picture taken first.

     

     

    DSC_8969

    Marlin and Nancy’s oldest daughter, Karen (center right) talking to Brenda.

     

     

    DSC_8973

    Brenda and Nancy listen as my brother Dale prays a blessing on Nancy and on the meal.

     

    DSC_8976

    Lindsey didn’t quite understand how to blow out her candles…

     

     

    DSC_8979

    …so her sister Heidi blew them out for her.

     

     

      DSC_8983 DSC_8985

    Since none of the sibling pictures are good of the four of us (minus our brother Clair who was not in the area), I will post several.

    I told Steve and Dale that I can call Nancy my favorite sister, but they are in trouble if they try it.

     

     

    DSC_8987 DSC_8989

    Me, Steve, Nancy, and Dale.

     

    DSC_9001 DSC_9002

    Melissa and Jason – Marlin and Nancy’s second daughter.

     

     

    DSC_9004

    The party was held at Kevin and Amy’s house - Marlin and Nancy’s third daughter. They are Heidi and Lindsey’s parents.

    I’m sorry that I missed getting a picture of Marlin and Nancy’s youngest daughter, Chelsey.

     

     

    DSC_9005

    Homemade ice cream.

     

     

    DSC_9008

    Lindsey may not have known how to blow out candles, but she understood opening gifts.

     

     

    DSC_9010

     

     

    DSC_9011

    Grandpa Marlin helped her a bit with her new sleeping bag.

     

    ~~~

    Nancy is nine-and-a-half years younger than me, so when she is sixty, I know that my next birthday is seventy!

    ~~~

     

     

Comments (2)

  • The picture of Lindsey opening presents is adorable. What are you going to do if Xanga closes?

  • I have been checking out what WordPress has to offer – and talking to a tech.

    I don’t think I am going to wait to see what happens to Xanga, because we will be delivering a chapel to Calgary in July, and will be gone on July 15 – the deadline. And it sounds like we will have to pay if Xanga stays. I will make the transfer next week if I go that way.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *