June 5, 2013

  •  

    I moved my blog to WordPress.

    http://dorishigh.com/

    ~~~

    Some of you are asking how I archived my Xanga site, and opened a WordPress site.

    This is the Xanga link for archiving entries. http://www.xanga.com/private/archives.aspx. At least It worked for me.

    It is a two-step process. You tell Xanga that you want them archived, come back several hours or a day later to get the archived files, and then save them to a file on your computer.

    I also had my old Xanga file migrated to my new WordPress site. BlueHost did that for me at a cost of about $100.00. The background colors don’t migrate, but the photos and font did.

    I am not very tech savvy, and worked with a BlueHost technician for the migration – and for a bit of help in setting up my WordPress site.

     

Comments (12)

  • I am there as Jabez7540 in case Xanga does not make it.

  • I have saved your new site, as I wouldn’t want to miss your posts. Blessings.

  • Looks great! Seems like the turnaround time wasn’t long at all. I’m still waiting to see what they end up doing here at Xanga. Are you going to get all your archives from here transferred over? I’m planning to post my wordpress address later on on my blog, but if you’re not going to be blogging much here, it’s http://naphtalideer.wordpress.com/Psalm 37:3-4. :)

  • I did archive my files, and WordPress also migrated them to a file for me. Right now I don’t have them publically displayed.I will check out your wordpress site and see if I can figure out out to subscribe. :)

  • don’t know what I’m going to do but thanks for telling me where you’re going. I’m more all about photos so I have a flickr account and my family meets on facebook

  • Thanks for the info! I don’t know yet what I am going to do. I have heard a few say that WordPress is hard to work with, but I haven’t checked it out. I may just write and post on FB, since a lot of my Xanga friends are also on there. If you keep providing a link, I will be able to follow you. I just wonder if I go to another site, how many people will bother to come over to read. I feel so bad that Xanga may go under. I think I will probably lose track of a lot of people who have been great on line friends.

  • @DanishDoll - WordPress is definitely different, but I am learning to like it. I will stay in touch with you through Facebook.

  • i went with bluehost/ wordpress too. it is alot more difficult than xanga, but i liked the idea of being able to transfer blogs over. there’s also this site that helps import your stuff into wordpress – http://wordpress.org/plugins/xanga-importer/. i’m going to set up a feedly account to keep track of everyone’s new blogs! :) )

  • @grace_to_be - What is your new website name?

  • One of my sons is on WP and likes it. I’ll have to get him to help if Xanga shuts down. Maybe I’ll see you over there sometimes.

  • ((( O people Say No God But Allah, Achieve Eternal Salvation ))) ” Laa illaha illa lah .” (There is none worthy of worship except Allah.) ( I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship except Allah and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger )( Introduction to Islam )http://www.blogger.com/profile/00783655376697060967….1…..

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *